Our Critical Advisors

Critical Advisors for Meeting #1 & #2, Atlanta, GA

These individuals were selected for their expertise and achievements in the following domains:
  • Higher education science and engineering curricula pertaining to global issues, from the standpoints of science, business & industry, and national leadership
  • Higher education policy and practice, including accountability, economics, and resource and reward distribution
  • Professional development in teaching for current and future faculty
  • External funding sources for higher education
  • Higher education associations
  • Improving university teaching and learning
  • Media and communications

Susan Albertine
Senior Director of Liberal Education and America's Promise (LEAP), Association of American Colleges & Universities

William (Brit) Kirwan
University System of Maryland

+Bruce Alberts
Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics; Editor-in-Chief of Science University of California, San Francisco

Shirley Malcom
Head, Education & Human Resources
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Ann Austin
Professor, Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Education Program
Michigan State University

Sarah Banas Mills
Program Associate
American Association for the Advancement of Science

David Blockstein
Senior Scientist, National Council for Science and the Environment, and Executive Secretary for the NCSE Council of Environmental Deans & Directors

Caryn McTighe Musil
Senior Vice President
Association of American Colleges and Universities

George Boggs
American Association of Community Colleges

Jeanne Narum
Project Kaleidoscope

+John Seely Brown
Visiting Scholar and Advisor to the Provost
Univ. of Southern California

Diana Natalicio
University of Texas at El Paso

Peter Bruns
Vice President for Grants and
Special Programs
Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Stephanie Pfirman
Environmental Science
Barnard College

Carol Carmichael
Faculty Associate, Engineering and Applied Science, California Institute of Technology

Judith Ramaley
Winona State University

Jeanne Century
Director, Science Education, Center for Elementary Mathematics and Science Education, University of Chicago

Debra Rowe
President, U.S. Partnership for Education for Sustainable Development

Sharon Dunwoody
Professor and Associate Dean of the Graduate School Journalism & Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Karl Smith
Engineering Professor
Purdue University & University of Minnesota

James Elder
The Campaign for Environmental Literacy

James H. Stith
Vice President Physics Resources, Retired
American Institute of Physics

Peter Ewell
Vice President
National Center for Higher Education Management Systems

William Sullivan
Senior Scholar, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Ted Greenwood
Program Officer
The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Uri Treisman
The Dana Center at the University of Texas at Austin

+Freeman Hrabowski
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Karan Watson
Vice Chancellor
Texas A&M University

Richard Jackson
Director, Graham Environmental Sustainability Institute
University of Michigan

Ralph Wolff
Western Association of Schools and Colleges

Stanley G. Jones
Commissioner for Higher Education, Indiana

Robert Zemsky
Professor, Higher Education University of Pennsylvania

Adrianna Kezar
Professor, Higher Education
University of Southern California

+ People who are unable to attend the meeting but have agreed to participate as virtual critical advisors.

Mobilizing STEM Education for a Sustainable Future